Arunachal Pradesh is the largest state area-wise in the north-eastern region. Administratively the state is divided into 25 districts. The Arunachal Pradesh State Centre of National Informatics Centre is located at Civil Secretariat, Block 3, 2nd Floor, Itanagar, the State capital. NIC, districts centres are located in the district headquarters of 21 districts. The Capital district has two district centres located at Itanagar and Yupia respectively. The district centres are yet to be established at Shi Yomi, Lower Siang, Pakke Kessang, Kamle and Lepa Rada District. The request for the setting up of these centres has been submitted to NIC Hqrs.

    Since the establishment of NIC, Arunachal Pradesh State Centre at Itanagar, in the month of November 1988, it has played a key role in ushering in ICT based culture in the functioning of the state government.

    NIC, Arunachal Pradesh State Centre has been instrumental in the conceptualization, design, development and implementation of many ICT based applications including eOffice, eDistrict, TreasuryNet, e-Ticketing system, eProcurement, eAbkari, eCourts, eCounselling, One Nation One RC, GPF, Payroll, EoDB portal, eSamiksha, Farmer’s Portal, Hortnet, CPGRAMS, SPARROW etc., for the state government as well as in the capacity building of the government manpower. Many other projects with respect to other sectors like Finance, Cabinet Affairs, State Information Commission, Art and Culture are in pipeline.

    Other value-added services like NICNET services, Mini Data Centre services, Cloud services, Video Conferencing, email are being used by the State Government extensively to drive their e-Governance activities. The network is powered by a 10Gbps PGCIL NKN link.